Upcoming Events





Sea of Life

Thursday 2 February to Wednesday 8 March - The Hellenic Centre. Greek-Cypriot artist Marina Emphietzi-Harris grew up in a house by the sea and her paintings of seascapes emanate from memories of her childhood and show the natural forms of a real world in a semi abstract or conceptual way. Read more...

Celebration of Christian and Greek Literature

Friday 3 February, 7.15pm - The Hellenic Centre. An event organised by the Archdiocese of Thyateira. Read more...

Aristotle on Rationality in Action

Tuesday 7 February, 7.15pm - The Hellenic Centre. Prof Anthony Price, Birkbeck College will discuss how according to Aristotle the conclusion of a piece of practical reasoning is an action (if nothing gets in the way) and that one can act, as well as think, rationally. Read more...

Vasilopitta organised by the Hellenic Medical Society

Friday 10 February, 8pm to 9pm - The Hellenic Centre. Read more...

Dances from Cyclades and Dodekanisa

Sunday 12 February. Traditional Greek dance workshop organised by Lykion to Hellinidon. Read more...

Tsiknopempti

Thursday 16 February, 7.30pm - The Hellenic Centre. Celebration of Greek Carnival with food, music and Greek dancing organised by Lykion ton Hellinidon. Read more...

Greeks of Armenia

Friday 17 February, 7.15pm - The Hellenic Centre. An illustarted lecture in English by Dr Marina Mkhitaryan. According to the public census of 2011, the Greek resident population of Armenia numbers 900 people. Read more...

Under the Sceptre of Nestor: Excavations at the Mycenaean Capital City of Iklaina

Wednesday 22 February, 7pm - The Hellenic Centre. An illustrated lecture in English by Professor M Cosmopoulos, University of Missouri, St. Louis. Read more...

Carnival Celebration for Children

Saturday 25 February, 1pm to 4pm - The Hellenic Centre. A time of dancing and dressing up, Carnival has always been dedicated to our young friends. This year we bring to them a day of fun. Read more...

Kathara Deftera Celebration

Monday 27 February, 7pm to 10pm - The Hellenic Centre. Kathara Deftera marks the end of the Carnival and the beginning of Greek Orthodox Lent that prepares us for Easter. Read more...

in TRANSIT

Monday 13 March to Wednesday 5 April - The Hellenic Centre. An exhibition of eight acrylic paintings by Irene Daniolou-Neofytou depicting the refugee camps. Read more...

An Evening with Tasoulla Christou

Wednesday 15 March, 7.30pm - The Hellenic Centre. A concert presenting a variety of pieces by the Greek Cypriot composer Tasoulla Christou, now living and working in London. Read more...

The Tumulus Kastas and the Lion of Amphipolis 2012-2014

Friday 17 March, 7pm - The Hellenic Centre. An illustrated lecture in English by Mrs Katerina Peristeri, Archaeologist, Director of Excavations at Kasta Tumulus, Honorary Director of Antiquities. Read more...

The Cretan (An Hymn to Love)

Saturday 18 March, 11am and 6.30pm - The Hellenic Centre. Dionysios Solomos’s masterpiece, transferred on stage by Marios Iordanou (director) and Sofia Kazantzian (choreographer), comes to London following performances in Athens, Zakynthos, Zurich and Munich. Read more...

Fancy Dress Party

Monday 20 March, 7.30pm - Jacobs, 20 Gloucester Road, SW7 4RB. An evening of Ionian Kantades, fun, singing and dancing organised by the Ionian Society. Read more...